Honor Guard

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Department Honor Guard
The Smyrna Fire Department Honor Guard was founded in September 1999.  Holding its first meeting on November 11th of that year, the Honor Guard consisted of the following members:

Fire Fighter Justin Cross:  Commander
Fire Fighter James Lawrence:  Assistant Commander
Fire Fighter Lance Lee:  Secretary
Lieutenant Floyd Mayes
Fire Fighter Tim Parr
Lieutenant Shane Patterson
Lieutenant Dwayne Stacey
Fire Fighter Burt Wilson

Since its founding over 20 years ago, the Smyrna Fire Department Honor Guard has been commissioned to many duties which include:  honoring fallen firefighters at memorial and funeral services; participating in the ceremonial presentations at Smyrna Rotary Fish Fry, the Town of Smyrna Independence Day Celebration, Town of Smyrna Christmas Parade, Town of Smyrna Memorial Day Ceremony, Town of Smyrna Veteran's Day Ceremony; and memorials and events throughout Middle Tennessee. 

In 2016, Smyrna Fire Department Honor Guard participated in the Fire Department Instructors Conference (FDIC) as part of the Official Event Honor Guard by presenting colors at various events throughout the conference.  The Honor Guard returned in 2018 and 2019 to compete in the FDIC contest, competing against teams from across the nation.  The contest consists of a meticulous recital of all skills the Honor Guard must hone in order to bring dignity to the fallen.  The team placed 2nd in the National Honor Guard Competition both years. 

The Honor Guard holds monthly training meetings.  These mandatory sessions refine members in each of the skills demanded by the tradition of the Fire Service Honor Guard.  Their dedication to excellence makes them humble ambassadors of the Town of Smyrna. 

The current Smyrna Fire Department Honor Guard members are: 

Ladder Driver Brandon Sasser:  Commander
Ladder Driver Jeremy Stokes:  Assistant Commander
Ladder Driver Ryan Kellum:  Secretary
Lieutenant Kenny Campbell:  Training Coordinator
Driver Daniel Brownlow
Driver Frank Capurso
Lieutenant Brian Garsnett
Ladder Driver David Honeycutt
Captain Nick Johns
Driver Nick Link
Driver Eric Meyer
Driver Jerry Mosley
Ladder Driver Jeremy Napper

 Honor Guard